Take Two

Posted on Updated on

As I was singing this song Eesha Paahimam on stage recently, I was full fledge in the middle of the song while I saw a few kids running around, the next thing I know I am mumbling and jumbling up on the lyrics of the song that I thought I had gotten down. I instinctively close my eyes to regain my focus. I keep my eyes closed till the remainder of the song, and I get through my song without any more bloopers.

Lessons learned:
1. Know your stuff well. In the case of singing, learn the lyrics of your song up really good because when it comes to singing on stage, there can be a million distractions.
2. Inspite of the practice, if you mess up, it happens. Go with the flow and finish what you started, don’t be too hard on yourself. There’s always next time to learn from your mistakes, improve and grow.
3. Just have fun with it and embrace the process, screw ups and all!

Since my version of this song on stage had a few bloopers and I wasn’t fully happy with it…I did a take two on this later. This song, Eesha Paahimam is in raaga Kalyani.

Raaga or raag as it is also referred to in Indian classical music is a melody of the song. Raaga gives the song a certain flavor and creates a certain mood. Kalyani raaga is said to have a very auspicious tone to it. Have you ever noticed how certain tunes make you feel a certain way? Or you may want to hear certain types of songs at different times. There maybe times when you want to dance your heart out to an upbeat song while other times you just want to be in a sober state listening to a more down to earth melody. That is really what raagas do in Indian music….it creates the mood. What mood does this song create for you?

One thought on “Take Two

    Amish said:
    November 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    Awesome…so proud of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

